Being a cooperative is more than just our business model. It is how we approach working together.
We share knowledge, listen, collaborate and solve problems together.

Who We Are

Rayburn Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit generation and transmission electric cooperative, formed in 1979 by seven distribution cooperatives in Northeast Texas. The Member cooperatives united to gain bargaining power in critical wholesale purchased power negotiations. Rayburn is named after Sam Rayburn, former Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, who was instrumental in the passage of the Rural Electrification Act.

Rayburn obtains power from various places to maintain lower power costs for its Members. Renewables are a key part of Rayburn’s portfolio including hydroelectric power from Denison Dam and various solar projects located within its territory.

Rayburn serves four Member owned distribution electric cooperatives: Fannin County Electric Cooperative, Farmers Electric Cooperative, Grayson-Collin Electric Cooperative, and Trinity Valley Electric Cooperative. Rayburn is governed by its Board of Directors, which is comprised of the General Manager and a Director from each Member cooperative.

What We Do

Rayburn provides a source of adequate, reliable, and affordable wholesale electric energy that meets the needs of our Members. Rayburn owns and operates over 275 miles of transmission lines in Texas located entirely within the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT). Rayburn is also certified as a transmission owner and transmission operator by the Texas Reliability Entity. We comply with Public Utilities Commission of Texas (PUC), Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), as applicable for electric reliability compliance.

Where We Serve

Electric cooperatives were founded to serve rural communities and their need for electricity in areas that were not served by larger electrical service providers. Electric cooperatives are located in the communities they power and have a proud history and tradition of community service.

The Members purchase power from Rayburn and provide retail electric service to over 500,000 Texans, in 16 counties north and east of the Dallas Metroplex. Rayburn adheres to the seven core cooperative principles: Voluntary and Open Membership, Democratic Member Control, Members’ Economic Participation, Autonomy and Independence, Education, Training and Information, Cooperation Among Cooperatives, and Concern for Community.