Rayburn Energy Station has capacity to power approximately 750,000 homes.

Rockwall, Texas — Rockwall-based Rayburn Electric Cooperative announced today it has acquired ownership of the Panda Sherman Power Plant. The 758 megawatt (MW) natural gas-fueled power plant has been renamed Rayburn Energy Station.

Located in Grayson County, Rayburn Energy Station employs 27 people and began commercial operations in 2014. The plant is capable of supplying clean power for approximately 750,000 homes.

“Rayburn Energy Station is a powerful and effective expansion of Rayburn’s energy portfolio,” Rayburn President and CEO David A. Naylor said. “Our investment reflects our commitment to reliably and affordably meet the growing demand of our four Member cooperatives as we navigate the dynamic Texas energy market.”

Rayburn, headquartered in Rockwall and formed in 1979, is a not-for-profit generation and transmission cooperative that acquires and transmits energy to its four Member-owned distribution cooperatives: Fannin County Electric Cooperative, Farmers Electric Cooperative, Grayson-Collin Electric Cooperative and Trinity Valley Electric Cooperative. The four Member cooperatives collectively serve over 500,000 Texans across 16 counties. Rayburn owns 265 miles of transmission line throughout North Texas, as well as a 25% interest in Freestone Energy Center, which produces over 1000 megawatts (MW) of natural gas combined cycle energy in Freestone County, Texas.

Gentry Ewing
(469) 402-2105
Email Gentry Ewing