Rayburn is a trusted, Member focused Generation and Transmission Cooperative dedicated to providing our Members with dependable and cost-effective wholesale electric energy solutions. With over 265 miles of transmission line located exclusively within the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), we own and operate a robust infrastructure that ensures the seamless delivery of electricity.

As a certified transmission owner and transmission operator by the Texas Reliability Entity, Rayburn adheres to the regulations set by entities such as the Public Utilities Commission of Texas (PUC), Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). We prioritize compliance to uphold the highest standards of electric reliability.

Rayburn Energy Station

Sherman, Texas

Freestone Energy Center

Fairfield, Texas

Rayburn Energy Station and Freestone Energy Center: the bulk of Rayburn’s Energy Portfolio.

Learn more about the different ways Rayburn generates energy.

Our diverse portfolio includes the ownership and operation of the Rayburn Energy Station, a state-of-the-art 758 megawatt (MW) natural gas plant based in Sherman, Texas. Additionally, we proudly hold a 25% ownership stake in the Freestone Energy Center, a leading natural gas combined cycle energy producer generating over 1000MW in Freestone County, Texas. We are continuously expanding our ventures to meet the evolving energy demands of our Members.

Since our establishment in 1979, Rayburn Electric Cooperative (Rayburn) has been committed to delivering secure, affordable, and efficient electric delivery services to our Member-owned distribution electric cooperatives. Over 4 decades, we have successfully provided our Members with wholesale power at highly competitive prices. Guided by our mission statement, “to maximize the value of our Members’ investment while maintaining competitive wholesale power costs as we exemplify integrity and excellence,” we remain dedicated to delivering excellence in all that we do.

Headquartered in Rockwall, Texas, Rayburn serves 4 Member-owned distribution electric cooperatives: Fannin Electric Cooperative, Farmers Electric Cooperative, Grayson-Collin Electric Cooperative, and Trinity Valley Electric Cooperative. Together, these cooperatives serve over 500,000 Texans. Our operations are overseen by a Board of Directors comprising the General Manager and a Director from each Member cooperative, ensuring comprehensive representation and collaborative decision-making.

At Rayburn, we take great pride in delivering reliable and affordable wholesale electric energy to our Members. With our extensive transmission infrastructure, strategic partnerships, and unwavering commitment to excellence, we are well-positioned to meet and support the growing energy needs of Texas.